My American idol experience
Well I can honestly say that even though I didn't make the cut, the trip was definitely worth my while. To be honest I'm actually a quite timid person at heart, and was having much trouble working up the nerve to even sing in front of the judges.
Now I'm not sure if any of you know how these auditions really work but trust me, they are hardly in resemblance to hoW the television show portrays it. You wait in line for around five hours, after which all of the ten thousand hopefuls pile into a stadium. You then slowly audition by fours at one of 12 random stands, in front of two of 24 random judges who they hire before hand.
Now not to be discouraging or anything but you literally have a one percent chance of making it past the first round there, after which they trim it down again cutting it to about three quarters of a percent, then finally they do a little more trimming which cuts it to about a half percent. This select half percentile is then flown out to Atlanta a given number of weeks later to actually audition for the star studded panel.
I sang a song I felt pretty confident about being, "breakeven" by the script. I practiced the whole time and when It was finally my turn to go I can say I hardly showed a sub par performance. The nerves are the number one factor and pretty much screw the whole thing up. So they gave it some consideration told two out of the four in my group sorry guys not this time, which instilled a spark of excitement in me. I remember thinking, "oh my goodness I'm going through!". They then looked at us two and looked at each other and talked for a bit and said, "sorry guys the bar is set very high this year, please come back next year.". And just like that it was over, my dreams were crushed!!! Haha hardly, I never thought I would really make it anyways but you still have that sense of hope that maybe, just maybe, you'll get lucky.
I came, I sang, I met several nice people, and I conquered! I will definitely be back next year. I am very grateful that I had this opportunity and wanna say thank you to everyone who supported me. So thats it that's everything that's all, until next time friends,
-Austin
Friday, August 26, 2011
Sunday, August 21, 2011
Top ten things I am, and am not looking forward to.
AM AM NOT
1. Denver Broncos 1. School
2. Utah Jazz 2. School
3. Elder Scrolls V : Skyrim 3. School
4. Shoes 4. School
5.Street League Skateboarding 5. School
6. Making Sweet Music 6. School
7. Basketball 7. School
8. Good Friends 8. School
9. Graduation 9. School
10. Injuries Healing 10. GIRLS
Thursday, August 18, 2011
Love don't cost a thing........with the exception of your pride, your personality, your self esteem, etc.
Yeah you know what I'm talking about, in order to win the heart of someone, you have to bend and twist to their liking, lose every ounce of self respect you have, and compress your personality into nothing. I say there is no, "out of your league" only, "out of your reach".
I want to say something corny like, "be yourself" or "who cares what others think of you". But really, I can't; and the reason is simple. Every single person cares what others think of them, and it makes it hard to be yourself. But there is a simple solution, MEDICATION! Haha just kidding, but seriously to get back to the original spiel. The fact of the matter is guys, girls exclaim on facebook constantly, that boys are stupid, boys just want us for our bodies!(insert snobby girl impression here), boys are jerks, boys are r-....... Oh hey look a six pack!!! Hey baby how you doin???!! Yeah you boys know what I'm talking about, and here's the real secret.............GIRLS ARE DUMB. I mean I'm not going on some sexist rant or anything but really, what have girls given to the world? Hmmmmmm lets see......Electricity! Oh wait that was a guy........Cars!!!! Oh wait that was a guy too...........Anyone starting to see a pattern here? Yeah girls were put here to taunt and mock all of us guys that don't play football, or basketball, or soccer, or something that could potentially some day bring in quite a hefty salary. Ok before I make any real enemies, that girl thing was a joke, and that last thing ^ ^ ^ ^ applies to women as well. So I'm guessing you people know what I'm trying to say. Popularity and profiling are a thorn in the side of our lives.
So in conclusion I would like to say YES, be yourself. And if you end up finding someone who sees through how weird, and dorky you are (yours truly). Then they are probably just as weird and dorky as you, and you guys can spend the rest of your dorky yet happy lives together, living off of a normal salary, probably without washboard abs, with normal kids that probably won't get a scholarship to duke for basketball, or to florida for football, and you know what, that sounds just about perfect to me. So what are you waiting for? Good hunting friends, until next time. - AUSTIN.
I want to say something corny like, "be yourself" or "who cares what others think of you". But really, I can't; and the reason is simple. Every single person cares what others think of them, and it makes it hard to be yourself. But there is a simple solution, MEDICATION! Haha just kidding, but seriously to get back to the original spiel. The fact of the matter is guys, girls exclaim on facebook constantly, that boys are stupid, boys just want us for our bodies!(insert snobby girl impression here), boys are jerks, boys are r-....... Oh hey look a six pack!!! Hey baby how you doin???!! Yeah you boys know what I'm talking about, and here's the real secret.............GIRLS ARE DUMB. I mean I'm not going on some sexist rant or anything but really, what have girls given to the world? Hmmmmmm lets see......Electricity! Oh wait that was a guy........Cars!!!! Oh wait that was a guy too...........Anyone starting to see a pattern here? Yeah girls were put here to taunt and mock all of us guys that don't play football, or basketball, or soccer, or something that could potentially some day bring in quite a hefty salary. Ok before I make any real enemies, that girl thing was a joke, and that last thing ^ ^ ^ ^ applies to women as well. So I'm guessing you people know what I'm trying to say. Popularity and profiling are a thorn in the side of our lives.
So in conclusion I would like to say YES, be yourself. And if you end up finding someone who sees through how weird, and dorky you are (yours truly). Then they are probably just as weird and dorky as you, and you guys can spend the rest of your dorky yet happy lives together, living off of a normal salary, probably without washboard abs, with normal kids that probably won't get a scholarship to duke for basketball, or to florida for football, and you know what, that sounds just about perfect to me. So what are you waiting for? Good hunting friends, until next time. - AUSTIN.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)